IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF ABRAHAM ULRIKAB

THE REMAINS OF TWO LABRADOR INUIT FAMILIES WHO DIED IN EUROPE WHILE BEING
EXHIBITED IN ZOOS ARE UNCOVERED

Hagenbeck Poster 1880
(Section of the 1880 Poster used by Carl Hagenbeck's Thierpark to advertise the Inuit. Collection Hans-Josef Rollmann.)

Who is Abraham Ulrikab? What's his story?

In August 1880, twAbraham and his familyo 'Eskimo' families from northern Labrador voluntarily departed for Europe where they were to become the newest exotic attraction in zoos. The eight individuals were recruited by Johan Adrian Jacobsen on behalf of Carl Hagenbeck, pioneer of ethnographic shows (known today as 'human zoos'). Since 1874, crowds had been flocking to Hagenbeck’s shows where they could observe 'savages' originating from different parts of the world. Hagenbeck was hoping to repeat the 1877 success of a group of Greenland 'Eskimos'.

As part of the group was Abraham, a 35 year old Inuk of Christian faith (Moravian) from the community of Hebron. Abraham was accompanied by his wife, Ulrike (24 years old), their two young daughters, Sara (3 years old) and Maria (9 months), a young single man, Tobias (20 years old) as well as a non-Christian family of three, Tigianniak (45 years old), his wife Paingu (50 years old) and their daughter Nuggasak (15 years old).

Unfortunately, Jacobsen and Hagenbeck forgot to take a mandatory measure by German law: vaccinate them against smallpox. A deadly mistake. Less than four months after their arrival on European soil, the group no longer existed. All eight Inuit having been killed by smallpox. The first three victims died in Germany. The remaining five, including Abraham, died in Paris.

Literate, Abraham documented his moods and emotions in his personal diary and in letters. Abraham’s writings give us insight on what happened when the group was exhibited in Germany (Hamburg, Berlin, Frankfurt, Darmstadt, Krefeld) and in Prague. Unfortunately, they are silent about their stay in Paris and until now, nobody had attempted to elucidate the events that occured in Paris prior and following the Inuit's death.

Here is a video that was prepared in 2013 to introduce the eight Inuit and summarize their story as it was known at the time:

What was this research project looking for?

These Inuit could not simply have vanished! They must have left traces. What was the sequence of events from the time they arrived in Paris to the time they died? Where are their traces? Where were the Inuit buried? Is Paingu's skullcap that Jacobsen carried to Paris in his luggage and gave to a professor anywhere to be found?  Are the artifacts Jacobsen collected in Labrador graves, and later sold to the Trocadero museum, still in Paris?

In 2010, after reading the book The Diary of Abraham Ulrikab: Text and Context, and intrigued by so many unanswered questions, France Rivet set out to look for answers. The more she dug, the more riveting the story became, and totally unsuspected facets emerged.


Hebron, Abraham’s home (the community was abandoned in the late 1950s)

The Inuit's remains are uncovered

Four years and three research trips to Europe later, France's findings bring to light an opportunity to change the course of Abraham’s story. Indeed, his expressed wish to come home to Labrador could eventually become a reality since it was discoverted that a French national museum holds the remains of Abraham, of his 24-year-old wife Ulrike, their 13-month-old daughter Maria, 20-year-old Tobias, and 45-year-old Tigianniak. This museum also holds the skullcap of Tigianniak’s wife, 50-year-old Paingu, and finally, France's research has also determined that the skull of 3-year-old Sara, the daughter Abraham and Ulrike had to abandon to a hospital in Germany, is part of a skull collection in Berlin! The remains, full or partial, of seven of the eight Inuit have therefore been located.

The book In the Footsteps of Abraham Ulrikab unveals new chapters in Abraham's story

Published in August 2014, the book In the Footsteps of Abraham Ulrikab consolidates all facts and documents uncovered by France Rivet.

This out-of-the-ordinary historical account will enable you to:

  1. Follow the Inuit's journey step by step from them being recruited in Labrador to their death in Europe.
  2. Discover how their remains ended up in museums and whether or not these remains were exhibited in Paris.
  3. Read Abraham's own moving words. Of the 35,000 individuals who were exhibited in Europe from the 1870s to the 1930s, Abraham is one of a handful to have left notes describing his experience as an "exhibit." See these 19th century "human zoos" from the perspective of someone who, contrary to what the Europeans were expecting, was literate, educated and could reflect on these civilized people.
  4. Understand the events through the writings of the main actors of the 19th century: Johan Adrian Jacobsen; the journalists who reported on the Inuit's tour; the members of the Moravian community who opposed Abraham's departure or who visited him at the Berlin zoo; the anthropologists who studied the Inuit either before or after their death; the physicians who admitted the Inuit to the Paris hospital or performed the autopsies; the police officials who authorized the exhumation of the remains, etc.
  5. Read the full report of the commission of inquiry into the Inuit's death. Discover their conclusions as to where the Inuit were infected by smallpox, what could have been done to prevent their contamination, and who was to blame.
  6. Put faces on most of the individuals who had a role to play in the Inuit's story through the 100 photos and illustrations contained in the book.
     

What they said about In the Footsteps of Abraham Ulrikab

Congratulations on your book [...] What I really like about it, apart from the good research and documentation, as well as the pictures introducing all persons and places involved, is the fact that you present the historical facts from all sides, but do not judge.

Dr. Hilke Thode-Arora, anthropologist, specializing in ethnographic shows in the colonial period, Munich, Germany

I take the opportunity to let you know that I finished your book on Ulrikab and his family. I found it really good and pleasant to read. You have done an enormous documentation work. What a tragic story, which we'd think could and should have been avoided. And the anthropologists who, a posteriori, seem so tactless. But these were the manners of the universalist Republic that was sure of herself... (Translation of the original text in French)

Philippe Mennecier, person in charge (now retired) of the biological anthropology collections, Museum national d'histoire naturelle, Paris, France

I wanted to congratulate you most sincerely for the work you did on Abraham Ulrikab. If it had been a PhD thesis, I would have gladly granted you the Cum Laude designation. Of all the studies I have read about the Jardin d'acclimatation's 'visitors', yours is the most thorough and by far the best. (Translation of the original text in French)

Gérard Lévy, Expert-merchant – photography from its origins to 1940 (specializing in the exhibitions held at the Jardin d’acclimatation), Paris, France

The concept of a ‘Human Zoo’ is a pretty daunting one to grasp. One is able to read many historical documents which show how two Inuit families were lured from their homes in Labrador to tour Europe in the 1880s and perish in a Parisian hospital from Smallpox. But to put those documents into an order as so to put a face on the issue is not only a noble one, but one that is needed to improve the human condition in order for us to improve ourselves. And that is what France Rivet has done. [...] This is an enlightening read and one that brings respect to an element to the human condition in a new way.

Steven Buechler, Pacific Tranquility blog - The Face of the "Human Zoos", Ontario, Canada

I first came upon Abraham and his story in the Up Here magazine aboard a Canadian North flight to Inuvik. You have really opened my eyes - wider - as to the cultural issues and challenges facing indigenous peoples in Canada, and the historical background that led us here.

Ken Koshgarian, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Click here to read more testimonials.

Make your own opinion of the events of 1880-1881.
Get your copy!
See the right-hand column for details on where you can buy it.

 

A Few Things to Understand Before you Read In the Footsteps of Abraham Ulrikab

  1. This book can be read as a stand-alone but it is important to understand that it is being published as part of a much wider endeavour that ultimately aims to repatriate to Canada the Inuit's human remains uncovered in Europe.
  2. The book's primary purpose is to provide the Nunatsiavut government, and the Inuit community, with all the information we have gathered about the events that occurred in Europe 134 years ago, in order to help them make a better informed decision about the repatriation of the remains.
  3. The book being meant to serve such an important purpose, we determined that in order to be most valuable, it had to provide the full transcriptions/translations of the original primary source documents. We realize that some readers may be disappointed to not find any analysis and interpretation data. They would be so useful especially for sections such as the 19th century studies on the Inuit's brains which, unless you are a neurologist, will most likely confuse you. They definitely confused us! That said, researching Abraham's story raised hundreds of questions in a wide range of areas. What was life in Hebron or Nachvak back in 1880? Why was Abraham so afraid of the Catholics? What do we know now about smallpox that they ignored back in 1880? It was totally unrealistic to try to attempt to resolve so many questions at this stage of the project, and honestly, we didn't know where to draw the line. Therefore, the decision was made to limit ourselves to publishing the "raw data" and to leave the analysis and interpretation for a subsequent step.
  4. Another main reason which influenced our decision is that we wanted to ensure to provide the opportunity to the Inuit community to take ownership of Abraham's story by getting hold of some of the story's many aspects that need further investigation, and taking an active role in bringing it one step higher. They certainly would be the better placed people to answer many of these questions and we would all benefit from such collaboration. It is on our 2015 to do list to look into the best way to go about completing this major undertaking.
  5. In the meantime, Professor Hartmut Lutz's book The Diary of Abraham Ulrikab: Text and Context already provides contextual information on several aspects of the story. We therefore invite readers to consult it as well as the many books which have been published on the "human zoos" of the 19th and 20th centuries. The book's bibliography provides many titles that could be of interest.
  6. Please, do not expect the book to provide the most up-to-date information about the repatriation process. As you now understand, the book had to be published before that decisional process could officially be triggered. Until the remains are brought back home to Labrador, and a second edition of the book is published to report on these yet-to-be-written chapters, you will have to rely on Polar Horizons' website and newsletter, on the Nunatsiavut government press releases, on the press, on social medias, etc. to be kept informed of the current status of the repatriation. The Nunatsiavut government and community are the only ones who can bring closure to this story and they will do it on their own terms, conditions, and time schedule.

May our efforts be useful to the Nunatsiavummiut.


Saglek Fjord, Torngat Mountains National Park

Johan Adrian Jacobsen's Diary - Voyage with the Labrador Eskimos, 1880-1881

To properly understand the 1880-1881 events, it seemed essential that Johan Adrian Jacobsen's diary be made available. Polar Horizons therefore took upon itself to translate it to English and French and to publish it. Voyage with the Labrador Eskimos, 1880-1881 will allow you to discover the moods, thoughts and qualms of this 27-year-old man throughout this journey; from his unsuccessful attempt to recruit 'Eskimos' in Greenland, his despair to see that Moravian missionaries in Labrador also opposed his project, his jubilation when Abraham agreed to accompany him with his family, his astonishment to witness Tigianniak and Paingu using their shamanic powers to calm a storm during the Atlantic crossing, to his shock of facing the first two deaths only minutes after doctors had confirmed there was no reason to be alarmed, the heartbreaking moment when Abraham has to hand over his three year old daughter to a hospital in Germany and finallythe horror of being admitted to the smallpox unit of a Paris hospital where both the 'Eskimos' and Europeans suffered and died around him.

"When I saw to Ulrike shortly after midnight, I noticed that she too would end her struggle soon. I tried to comfort her, but she waved me off with her hand, as if she did not want to see me at all. That was no surprise, because she knew that all the others had gone before her. I felt guilty to a certain degree for the death of these unfortunate people, even if unintentionally. Had I not come to Labrador, they would still be alive like all their relatives."

What they said about Voyage with the Labrador Eskimos, 1880-1881

"I read the book Voyage With the Labrador Eskimos, 1880-1881 all in one go.  What a sad story and all this because they neglected to administer a vaccine which was available. This book, a particular and a slightly repetitive journal, is a valuable addition to the Diary of Abraham Ulrikab. Both illustrate the Europeans’ exploitation attitude for commercial purposes and the curiosity of the Inuit who want to see the wonders of a country they cannot imagine." (Translation of the original text in French)

Dr. Denis Saint-Onge, O.C., Emeritus Professor, Department of Geography, University of Ottawa, ON

"WOW! What a great book. I read it in one go. It is really exciting and gives a wonderful view of the times."

Marianne Stenbaek, professor of Cultural Studies, English Department, McGill University, Montréal, QC

"I loved it very much!!! Like Johan Adrian started his journey, I slowly began my reading then I really got into it, carefully following the events. I was moved and saddened by the death of the 'Eskimos.' This diary is like a thriller we know the ending to, but we seek to understand the circumstances that led to their death." (Translation of the original text in French)

Sylvie Pinsonneault, Montréal, QC

Get your copy now!
See the right-hand column for details on where you can buy it.
 

How did this projet come about?

If you are curious to find out how this project came about, I invite you to read the following post that was published on Polar Horizons' blog: Bon Voyage Lyubov Orlova! The 'In the footsteps of Abraham Ulrikab' research project thanks you!


Nachvak Fjord, Torngat Mountains National Park

How you can help us continue the research?

  • By purchasing a copy of the books In the Footsteps of Abraham Ulrikab and Voyage with the Labrador Eskimos, 1880-1881. Currently, both books are available in paper or electronic format through Polar Horizons' online bookstore, Amazon's network and several online retailers. Your local bookstore should not have any issues ordering it for you if they don't have a copy on hand.
  • If you know of anyone who believes that he/she is related to the families of Abraham, Ulrike, Tobias, Tigianniak or Paingu, whether they are direct or collateral descendants (i.e. descendants of a brother or sister), please tell them to get in touch with us.
  • For our European friends, if you remember seeing photographs or any documents relating to these eight Inuit in your family's photo albums or archives, please get in touch with us. Posters were plastered all around Paris advertising the presence of the Eskimos at the Jardin d'Acclimatation. We also know that Abraham signed many autographs and did drawings for the crowd who came to see them. Wouldn't it be wonderful to retrace a document holding his original signature?

A big thank you for your support, your encouragement, and for your interest.

Get the latest on our research
It will be our pleasure to keep you up-to-date on any new development relating to Abraham's story. To ensure that you are first to hear the latest news, subscribe to Polar Horizons’ newsletter. Issued from four to six times each year, our newsletter will also keep you informed of our latest polar adventures, upcoming talks, activities and events, new products, etc.

Rest assured! We will not share or sell your email address to anyone. You will not be receiving any mail from us other than the newsletter and you will be able to unsubscribe at any time.

Don’t wait!  Subscribe today.

SUR LES TRACES D'ABRAHAM ULRIKAB

LA DÉCOUVERTE DES RESTES DE DEUX FAMILLES INUITES DU LABRADOR DÉCÉDÉES EN EUROPE ALORS QU'ELLES ÉTAIENT EXHIBÉES DANS DES ZOOS

1880 Poster - Carl Hagenbeck's Thierpark
(Section de l'affiche utilisée en 1880 par le Carl Hagenbeck's Thierpark pour annoncer la présence des Inuits. Collection Hans-Josef Rollmann.)

Qui est Abraham Ulrikab? Quelle est son histoire?

Abraham and his family

En août 1880, deux familles « esquimaudes » quittent volontairement le Labrador pour l’Europe afin de devenir la plus récente attraction exotique de jardins zoologiques.  Les huit individus ont été recrutés par Johan Adrian Jacobsen pour le compte de Carl Hagenbeck, pionnier des spectacles ethnographiques (connus aujourd'hui sous le terme « zoos humains »). Depuis 1874, ces spectacles attirent les foules curieuses d’observer des « sauvages » provenant de divers coins de la planète. Avec l’embauche de ces « Eskimos », Hagenbeck espère répéter le succès obtenu en 1877 par un groupe du Groenland.

Parmi eux se trouve Abraham, un Inuk de 35 ans de foi chrétienne (église morave) qui habite la communauté de Hebron. Abraham est accompagné de son épouse, Ulrike (24 ans), de leurs deux jeunes fillettes, Sara (3 ans) et Maria (9 mois), d’un jeune célibataire, Tobias (20 ans), ainsi que d’une famille païenne, originaire du fjord de Nachvak, composée de Tigianniak (45 ans), Paingu (50 ans) et leur fille Nuggasak (15 ans).

Malheureusement, Jacobsen et Hagenbeck omettent de prendre une mesure imposée par la loi allemande: les vacciner contre la variole. Une erreur fatale. Moins de quatre mois après son arrivée en sol européen, le groupe n’existe plus, tous ayant été emportés par la variole. Les trois premières victimes meurent en Allemagne. Les cinq autres, dont Abraham, meurent à Paris.

Lettré, Abraham a documenté ses états d'âmes et son séjour dans son journal personnel et dans quelques lettres.  Ses écrits nous donnent un aperçu sur ce qui s'est passé lorsque le groupe était exhibé en Allemagne (Hambourg, Berlin, Frankfurt, Darmstadt, Krefeld) et à Prague. Malheureusement, ses textes sont silencieux au sujet leur séjour à Paris et, jusqu'à aujourd'hui, personne n'a tenté d'élucider des événements survenus à Paris avant et après la mort des Inuits.

Voici une vidéo qui a été préparée en 2013 dans le but de vous présenter les huit Inuits et de faire un sommaire de leur histoire telle qu'elle était alors connue :

Qu'est-ce que ce projet visait à trouver?

Ces Inuits ne se sont pas tout simplement volatilisés! Ils doivent avoir laissé des traces à Paris. Quelle a été la séquence des événements du moment où ils sont arrivés à Paris jusqu’au moment où ils sont morts? Où sont leurs traces? Où ont-ils été inhumés? Qu'est-il advenu de la calotte crânienne de Paingu que Jacobsen dit avoir transportée dans ses bagages puis remise à un professeur à Paris? Est-ce que les artefacts qu'il a recueillis dans des sépultures à Hebron, puis vendues au musée du Trocadéro, se trouvent toujours à Paris?

En 2010, après sa lecture du livre The Diary of Abraham Ulrikab: Text and Context contenant le journal d’Abraham, et intriguée par toutes ces questions sans réponses, France Rivet s’est mise à fouiller. De découverte en découverte, des pans insoupçonnés de l’histoire sont apparus. Ce qui ne devait être qu'une recherche effectuée durant son temps libre a pris  une ampleur inattendue et s'est métamorphosé en une activité à temps plein.


Communauté de Hebron (aujourd'hui abandonnée), lieu d'origine d'Abraham.

Les ossements des Inuits sont retrouvés

Ses quatre années de recherche et trois voyages en Europe ont permis à France de mettre en lumière la possibilité de changer le cours de l’histoire d'Abraham. En effet, le vœu exprimé d'Abraham de rentrer au Labrador pourrait devenir une réalité puisqu'un musée national français détient les squelettes d'Abraham, de son épouse Ulrike (24 ans), de leur fillette Maria (13 mois), de Tobias (20 ans), et de Tigianniak (45 ans). De plus, le crâne de Sara (3 ans), fillette qu'Abraham et Ulrike ont dû abandonner en Allemagne, a été retrouvé dans la collection ostéologique de Rudolf Virchow conservée à Berlin alors que la calotte crânienne de Paingu (50 ans), épouse de Tigianniak, est également à Paris. Les restes, partiels ou entiers, de sept des huit Inuits ont donc été localisés.


Fjord du Saglek, Parc national des Monts-Torngat

Le livre Sur les traces d'Abraham Ulrikab réécrit l'histoire d'Abraham

Publié en août 2014, ce récit historique hors du commun vous permettra :

  • de suivre pas à pas le parcours des Inuits, de leur départ du Labrador jusqu'à leur mort en Europe;
  • de découvrir comment les ossements des Inuits se sont retrouvés dans les collections anthropologiques de musées français et allemands, et s'ils ont été montrés publiquement;
  • de lire les notes émouvantes d'Abraham, lui qui parmi plus de 35,000 exhibés (des années 1870 aux années 1930), est l'un des rares à avoir laissé un témoignage écrit de sa vision d'exhibé;
  • de comprendre cette histoire au travers des écrits des principaux acteurs du XIXe siècle : Johan Adrian Jacobsen, les journalistes qui ont écrit sur la présence des Inuits en Europe, les missionnaires moraves qui s'opposaient au départ d'Abraham ou qui les ont visité au zoo à Berlin, les anthropologues qui ont étudié les Inuits avant ou après leur mort, les médecins qui ont admis les Inuits à l'hôpital de Paris ou qui ont effectué les autopsies, le préfet de police qui a autorisé l'exhumation, etc.
  • de lire l'intégralité du rapport de la commission d'enquête sur la mort des Inuits. Découvrez leurs conclusions à savoir où la contamination a eu lieu et qui en sont tenus responsables.
  • de mettre des visages sur la majorité des personnes qui ont eu un rôle à jouer dans cette tragique histoire.

Ce qu’ils disent de Sur les traces d'Abraham Ulrikab

Félicitations pour votre livre que j'ai lu. Ce que j'aime vraiment à son sujet, mis à part la bonne recherche, la documentation, et les photos introduisant toutes les personnes et les lieux concernés, c'est le fait que vous présentez les faits historiques de tous les points de vue, mais ne jugez pas.  (traduction du texte original en anglais)

Hilke Thode-Arora, anthropologue spécialisée dans les des spectacles ethnographiques de la période coloniale, Munich, Allemagne

J'en profite pour vous dire que j'ai terminé votre livre sur Ulrikab et les siens. Je le trouve vraiment très bien et agréable à lire. Vous avez fait un énorme travail de documentation. Quelle histoire tragique, dont on se dit qu'elle aurait pu et dû être évitée. Et les anthropologues nous paraissent a posteriori bien indélicats. Mais c'étaient les mœurs de la république universaliste et sûre d'elle-même...

Dr. Philippe Mennecier, responsable à la retraite des collections d'anthropologie biologiques, Muséum national d'histoire naturelle, Paris, France

... je voulais vous féliciter très vivement pour le travail que vous avez fait sur Abraham Ulrikab. Si cela avait été une Thèse de Doctorat, je vous l'aurais attribuée avec plaisir avec la mention Cum Laude : De toutes les études que j'ai lu sur les "visiteurs" du Jardin d'Acclimatation, la vôtre est la plus fouillée et de loin la meilleure.

Gérard Lévy, Expert-marchand pour la photographie des origines à 1940 (spécialisation pour les spectacles ethnographiques du Jardin d'acclimatation), Paris, France

J'ai, dans un premier temps, pris connaissance de l'histoire d'Abraham dans le magazine Up Here à bord d'un vol de Canadian North vers Inuvik. Vous m'avez vraiment ouvert les yeux - encore plus grands - sur les questions culturelles et les défis auxquels sont confrontés les peuples autochtones au Canada, et sur le contexte historique qui nous a conduits ici. (traduction du texte original en anglais)

Ken Koshgarian, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Cliquez ici pour lire plus de témoignages.

Faites-vous votre propre opinion sur les événements de 1880-1881.
Obtenez votre exemplaire dès aujourd'hui!
Consultez la colonne de droite pour plus de détails.

 

Quelques points importants à comprendre avant de lire Sur les traces d'Abraham Ulrikab

  1. Ce livre peut être lu comme de façon indépendante mais il est important de comprendre qu'il est publié dans le cadre d'un effort beaucoup plus large qui vise à rapatrier au Canada les restes des Inuits découverts en Europe.
  2. L'objectif principal du livre est de fournir au gouvernement du Nunatsiavut et à la communauté inuite du Labrador, autant de détails que possible sur les événements survenus en Europe il y a 134 ans. Ceci dans le but de les aider à décider s'ils initieront ou non la demande de rapatriement.
  3. Le livre étant destiné à servir un objectif si important, nous avons déterminé que, pour qu'il soit le plus utile possible aux décideurs et à la communauté, il se devait fournir les transcriptions / traductions complètes des documents de source primaire originaux. Nous sommes conscients que certains lecteurs seront déçus de ne pas y trouver d'analyses ni d'interprétations. Celles-ci seraient pourtant si utiles, en particulier pour les sections telles que les études du 19e siècle portant sur les cerveaux des Inuits. À moins que vous ne soyez un neurologue, elles vous laisseront très probablement totalement confus. Ce fut notre cas! Cela dit, notre recherche sur l'histoire d'Abraham a soulevé des centaines de questions et ce, sur un large éventail de sujets. À quoi ressemblait la vie à Hebron ou à Nachvak en 1880? Pourquoi est-ce qu'Abraham avait une peur bleue des catholiques? Ou encore, que savons-nous aujourd'hui à propos de la variole qu'ils ignoraient en 1880? Il était totalement irréaliste d'essayer de tenter de résoudre toutes ces questions à ce stade du projet, et honnêtement, nous ne savions pas où tracer la ligne. Par conséquent, la décision a été prise de se limiter à la publication des « données brutes » et de laisser l'analyse et l'interprétation pour une étape ultérieure.
  4. Une autre raison majeure qui a influencé notre décision est que nous voulions nous assurer d'offrir l'occasion à la communauté inuite de se réapproprier l'histoire d'Abraham en leur permettant de jouer un rôle actif et d'adresser eux-mêmes certaines de ces questions en suspend. Ils sont certainement les personnes les mieux placées pour répondre à bon nombre d'entre elles. Nous ressortions tous grandis d'une telle collaboration. Notre liste de choses à faire en 2015 inclut de nous pencher sur la meilleure façon de procéder pour concrétiser ce projet d'envergure.
  5. En attendant, le livre du professeur Hartmut Lutz The Diary of Abraham Ulrikab: Text and Context (disponible en anglais ou en allemand) inclue déjà de l'information contextuelle sur divers aspects de l'histoire d'Abraham. Nous invitons donc les lecteurs à le consulter ainsi que les nombreux ouvrages qui ont été publiés sur les « zoos humains » des XIXe et XXe siècles. La bibliographie fournit de nombreux titres qui pourraient être d'intérêt.
  6. S'il vous plaît, ne vous attendez pas le livre vous fournisse l'information la plus à jour sur le processus de rapatriement. Comme vous le comprenez maintenant, le livre devait être publié afin que ce processus décisionnel puisse être officiellement déclenché. Jusqu'à ce que les restes humains soient ramenés au Labrador, et qu'une version finale du livre soit publiée pour faire rapport sur ces chapitres qui n'ont pas encore été écrits, vous devrez compter sur le site Web et l'infolettre d'Horizons Polaires, sur les communiqués de presse du gouvernement du Nunatsiavut, sur la presse, sur les médias sociaux, etc., pour être informés de l'état actuel du rapatriement. Le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut et la communauté inuite du Labrador sont les seuls qui boucler la boucle sur cette triste histoire et ils le feront selon leurs propres termes, conditions et calendrier. Puissent nos efforts leur être utiles.

Le journal de Johan Adrian Jacobsen - Voyage avec les Eskimos du Labrador, 1880-1881

Pour bien comprendre les événements de 1880, il nous semblait essentiel que le journal de Johan Adrian Jacobsen soit publié. Horizons Polaires a donc pris en charge les traductions française et anglaise de ce journal ainsi que leur publication. Voyage avec les Eskimos du Labrador, 1880-1881, vous permettra de découvrir les états d'âme de ce jeune homme de 27 ans tout au long du périple; de sa quête infructueuse pour recruter des « Eskimos » au Groenland, son désespoir de voir qu'au Labrador les missionnaires moraves s'opposent eux aussi à son projet, sa jubilation lorsqu'Abraham accepte de l'accompagner avec sa famille, son étonnement devant la scène où Tigianniak et Paingu se servent de leurs pouvoirs chamaniques pour calmer une tempête sur l'Atlantique, jusqu'au choc suite au deux premiers décès alors que les médecins confirmaient qu'il n'y avait pas lieu de s'inquiéter, suivi du moment où Abraham se voit dans l'obligation de remettre sa fillette de trois ans aux soins d’un hôpital en Allemagne puis l'horreur d'être admis au pavillon des varioleux de l'hôpital Saint-Louis de Paris où tant les « Eskimos » que les Européens souffrent et meurent autour de lui.

« Lorsque j’allai voir Ulrike peu après minuit, je vis que son combat touchait à sa fin. J’essayai de la réconforter, mais elle me fit signe que non de la main comme si elle ne voulait plus me voir; ce qui d’ailleurs n’était pas étonnant, car elle savait que tous les autres l’avaient précédée. Et je me sentis dans une certaine mesure coupable. ... Malheureux êtres humains. Leur mort, je ne l’ai pas voulue, et pourtant, si je n’étais pas allé au Labrador, comme tous leurs parents, ils vivraient encore. »

Ce qu’ils disent de Voyage avec les « Eskimos » du Labrador, 1880-1881

J'ai lu d'un trait le livre Voyage avec les Eskimos du Labrador 1880-1881. Quelle triste histoire et tout ceci parce que l'on avait négligé d'administrer un vaccin disponible. Ce livre, un journal particulier un peu répétitif est un très utile complément au "Diary of Abraham Ulrikab". Les deux illustrent l'attitude d'exploitation des européens pour fin commerciale et la curiosité des Inuit qui veulent voir les merveilles d'un pays qu'ils ne peuvent imaginer.

Denis Saint-Onge, O.C., Professeur émérite, Département de géographie, Université d’Ottawa, ON

WOW! Quel livre super. Je l'ai lu d’un seul coup. Il est vraiment passionnant et offre une vue fascinante de l'époque.  (traduction du texte original en anglais)

Marianne Stenbaek, professeur d’études culturelles au département d’anglais de l’Uni­ver­sité McGill, Montréal, QC

Je viens de terminer la lecture du Voyage avec les Eskimos du Labrador, le journal de Jacobsen. J'ai beaucoup aimé!!! Un peu comme Johan Adrian a entamé son voyage, j'ai débuté lentement ma lecture, puis je me suis prise à suivre avec attention les événements. Et à être émue et attristée de la mort des "Eskimos". Ce journal ressemble à un suspense dont on connaît la fin, mais où on cherche à comprendre les circonstances qui ont mené à leur mort.

Sylvie Pinsonneault, Montréal, QC

Obtenez votre exemplaire dès aujourd'hui!
Consultez la colonne de droite pour plus de détails.

Comment ce projet a-t-il vu le jour?

Si vous êtes curieux d'en connaître davantage sur comment ce projet de recherche a vu le jour, nous vous invitons à lire le texte suivant publié sur le blogue d’Horizons Polaires: Bon Voyage Lyubov Orlova! Le projet  « Sur les traces d'Abraham Ulrikab » te remercie!


Fjord de Nachvak, Parc national des Monts-Torngat.

Comment pouvez-vous nous aider à continuer les recherches?

Vous pouvez nous aider en:

  • Procurez-vous un exemplaire des livres Sur les traces d'Abraham Ulrikab et Voyage avec les Eskimos du Labrador, 1880-1881 actellement disponibles dans la librairie en ligne d'Horizons Polaires, par l'entremise du réseau d'Amazon ou de multiples détaillants en ligne. Toute librairie devrait également être en mesure de les commander pour vous s'ils ne sont pas sur leurs tablettes, et ce, tant en français qu'en anglais.
  • Si vous connaissez quelqu'un dans la communauté inuite qui croit être relié aux familles d'Abraham, Ulrike, Tobias, Tigianniak ou Paingu, SVP demandez-leur d'entrer en contact avec nous. Nous sommes à la recherche de descendants des inuits décédés en Europe.
  • Pour nos amis européens, si vous vous souvenez avoir vu des photographies ou des documents reliés à ces huit Inuits dans les album-photos ou vos archives familiales, contactez-nous.  Des affiches étaient placardées dans tout Paris annonçant la venue des « Esquimaux » au Jardin d'acclimatation. Nous savons également qu'Abraham a signé de multiples autographes et fait des dessins pour la foule venue les voir. Ne serait-il pas fantastique de retracer un document portant sa signature originale?

Un grand merci de votre support, de vos encouragements et de votre intérêt.

Recevez les dernières nouvelles à propos des travaux de recherche
C’est avec plaisir que nous vous informerons des faits nouveaux associés à l'histoire d'Abraham. Pour vous assurer d'être aux premières loges, abonnez-vous à l’infolettre d’Horizons Polaires. Publiée de quatre à six fois par an, notre infolettre vous tiendra également au courant de nos dernières aventures polaires, des conférences, activités et événements à venir, de nouveaux produits, etc.

Soyez rassurés! Nous ne partagerons ni ne vendrons votre adresse courriel à qui que ce soit. Vous ne recevrez pas de courriels de notre part autre que l’infolettre et vous serez en mesure de vous désabonner à tout moment.

N’attendez pas!  Inscrivez-vous aujourd’hui!