Nunatsiavut

In July 2009, a cruise along the coast of Newfoundland and Labrador was our introduction to Nunatsiavut («Our beautiful land»), the land of the Inuit of Labrador. We received the most cordial welcomes in the villages of Makkovik and Nain, were moved by the story of the abandoned mission of Hebron and were filled with wonder by environment and the spectacular landscapes of the Torngat Mountains National park.

Return to: 
  • The community of Makkovik is located at the latitude 55° 07' N on the coast of Labrador. Although the Inuit have been living in the area for thousands of years, the “official” creation of the community goes back to 1860 when a trading post settled here. In 1896, the Moravians established a mission thus ensuring colonization.

  • Nain, located at the latitude 56º 30' N was the very first mission established by the Moravian missionaries in Labrador (in 1771). The community occupies the northern side of Unity Bay and approximately 50km separates it from the Labrador Sea. It is the largest (1 250 inhabitants) and the northernmost community in Labrador.

  • The Moravian mission of Hebron was established in 1831. Located at the latitude of 58º 12' N it was the northernmost settlement in Labrador until the day in 1959 when the Moravian church and the provincial government officials decided to close the settlement without first consulting with the local population.

  • The Torngat mountains (Torngait, in the Inuktitut language meaning «place inhabited by the spirits») is a mountain range located at the northern tip of the Labrador peninsula. In 2005, Parks Canada established the Torngat Mountains National Park to protect the wild nature of this area where Inuit have been living for thousands of years.

  • Here are some photographs taken along the coast of Labrador. Tho photographs showing a superb orange sky were taken between 2:30AM and 4:00AM.

Nunatsiavut

À l’été 2009, une croisière le long de la côte terre-neuvienne et labradorienne nous a permis de faire connaissance avec le Nunatsiavut (« Notre beau pays »). Cette région du Labrador à majorité inuite a été établie officiellement en décembre 2005. Nous y avons reçu un accueil des plus chaleureux dans les villages de Makkovik et Nain. Nous avons été émus par la mission abandonnée d’Hébron et émerveillés par l’ambiance et les paysages spectaculaires du Parc national des Monts Torngat.

Retourner à la série: 
  • La communauté de Makkovik est située à la latitude 55° 07'N sur la côte du Labrador. Bien que les inuits aient fréquenté l’endroit depuis des millénaires, la création « officielle » de la communauté remonte à 1860 lorsqu’un poste de traite s’y installa. En 1896, les missionnaires moraves viennent s’établir assurant ainsi la colonisation.

  • Nain, située à la latitude 56º 30'N, fut la toute première mission établie par les missionnaires moraves au Labrador en 1771. La communauté occupe le côté nord de la baie Unity et environ 50 km la sépare de la mer du Labrador. Elle est la plus importante (environ 1 250 habitants) et la plus septentrionale communauté du Labrador.

  • La mission morave de Hébron fut établie en 1831. Située à la latitude 58º 12'N elle était jadis la communauté la plus septentrionale, jusqu’au jour où, en 1959, l’église morave et le gouvernement provincial décidèrent de fermer l’endroit sans avoir consulté la population au préalable.

  • Les monts Torngat (Torngait, dans la langue Inuktitut signifiant « lieu habité par les esprits ») sont une chaîne de montagnes située à l’extrême nord de la péninsule du Labrador.

  • Voici quelques photos prises le long des côtes du Labrador durant notre navigation. Celles montrant un superbe ciel orangé furent capturées entre 2h30 et 4h00 du matin.