In this gallery, you will find a sample of the images we brought back from two stays in Nunavut, the largest and the most recent Canadian territory which occupies a territory as large as Western Europe. Created on April 1, 1999, Nunavut is an Inuktitut term which means “Our land”.

Return to: 
  • On May 30, 2013 the Mary Our Mother church hosted the episcopal ordination ceremony of Most Reverend Anthony Wieslaw Krotki, O.M.I. who became the 6th bishop for the Churchill-Hudson Bay diocese.

  • Artcirq is an initiative that is offering Igloolik's youth the possibility of expressing itself through the art of circus. This social circus has allowed several young Inuit to open their horizons and travel throughout Canada,  Europe, Africa and South America.

  • Located above the 74th parallel north directly on the Northwest Passage (i.e. close to 800 km north of the Arctic Circle),  Somerset island is Canada's 12th largest island. Every summer hundreds if not thousands of belugas congregate in the Cunningham Inlet estuary at the mouth of the Cunningham River. Here they find shallow and warmer waters.

  • An Inuit hamlet of about 230 people, Resolute is located on the southern shore of Cornwallis Island right on the Northwest Passage. Located above the 74th parallel, it is the second northernmost community in Canada (the northernmost being Grise Fjord, on Ellesmere Island). Its Inuit name is Qausuittuq meaning "where there is no dawn".

  • Located about one kilometre from the centre of Iqaluit, Nunavut's capital, the Sylvia Grinnell territorial park is the territory's oldest and most widely visited territorial park. It offers hiking trails, picnic areas, camping sites and arctic char fishing.

Nunavut

Dans cette série, vous trouverez un échantillon des images rapportées de deux séjours dans le plus grand et le tout dernier territoire canadien, le Nunavut, qui occupe un territoire aussi grand que l’Europe de l’Ouest. Créé le 1er avril 1999, « Nunavut » est un terme inuktitut qui signifie « Notre terre ».

Retourner à la série: 
  • Le 30 mai 2013 se tenait à Rankin Inlet la cérémonie d'ordination du nouvel évêque du diocèse de Churchill-Baie d'Hudson, Mgr Anthony Wieslaw Krotki, O.M.I.

  • Artcirq est une initiative qui a pour but d'offrir aux jeunes d'Igloolik la possibilité de s'exprimer à travers les arts du cirque. Ce cirque social a fait ses preuves et a permis à plusieurs jeunes d'ouvrir leurs horizons, de voyager tant au Canada, qu'en Europe, en Afrique et en Amérique du sud.

  • Située au 74° parallèle nord et donnant directement sur le passage du Nord-Ouest (à près de 800 km au nord du cercle arctique), l'île Somerset est la 12e plus grande île du Canada.

  • Petite localité inuite d'environ 230 personnes, Resolute est située au sud de l'île Cornwallis et donne directement sur le passage du Nord-Ouest. Située au 74e parallèle, elle est la deuxième communauté la plus septentrionale au Canada (la première étant Grise Fjord sur l'île Ellesmere).

  • Situé à environ un kilomètre du centre d'Iqaluit, la capitale du Nunavut, le parc territorial Sylvia Grinnell vise à mettre en valeur la rivière du même nom. Le parc est un terrain de jeu très prisé offrant des sentiers de randonnées, des aires de pique-niques, de camping et de pêche à l'omble arctique.