Svalbard is an archipelago located in the Arctic Ocean halfway between the northern tip of Norway and the North Pole. The archipelago is located between the 74th and the 81th parallels north. A country of mountains and glaciers, Svalbard was the starting point for several polar explorers and adventurers. Russian and Europeans hunters and fishermen came here for centuries but the real colonization of the archipelago began in the XXth century with the coal mining industry. Svalbard made the front page of newspapers in 2008 following the inauguration of the Svalvard Global Seed Vault, an underground safe deposit intended to preserve a wide variety of plant seeds from locations worldwide in order to preserve genetic diversity.

Return to: 
  • Longyearbyen is located at 78° 13°N on the island of Spitsbergen, the archipelago's largest island. It is the administrative center of Svalbard with more than 1 500 residents. John Monroe Longyear, an American businessman, who came here to develop the coal mining industry, founded it in 1906.

  • A bay located on the west coast of Spitsbergen. It is home to the 14th of July glacier, which received its name in honor of France's national holiday because of the Arctic expeditions of Albert I, Prince of Monaco.

  • Located at 78° 55°N on the shores of Kings Bay, Ny-Ålesund is the world's northernmost settlement. Originally a coal mining town, it has become a scientific & environmental research station hosting scientists from 9 different countries.

  • Kongsfjord (King's Bay), 22 km long and 4-10 km wide, is considered to be one of the nicest bays in the archipelago. Two glaciers head the fjord, Kronebreen (Crowned Heads' glacier) and Kongsvegen (King's glacier).

  • These basalt towers, with a height of approximately 350m, are home to over 120 000 Brünnich's guillemots, providing a deafening symphony.

  • Because of the lack of ice during the summer 2006, our ship, the Grigoryi Mikheev, was able to take us beyond the 82nd parallel. For the first time in its history, the Grigoryi Mikheev crossed the 82° 03°N latitude in July 2006. It is aboard zodiacs that we then crossed 82° 04°N.

  • The easternmost island of Svalbard, Kvitoya, is a mythical island. It is here that in 1930, the remains of Salomon Auguste Andrée's expedition were discovered by mere chance. In 1897, Andrée and his two companions were to become the first in history to fly over the North Pole in an air balloon. However, destiny decided otherwise.

  • Storoya, Kvitoya's neighbour, gave us some of the most memorable moments of our trip. It is here that we were welcomed by a group of most curious walruses that seemed to feel abandoned as soon as our attention shifted towards the five polar bears that were resting on the beach.

  • On the northwestern coast of Edgeoya, Kapp Lee used to be a walrus hunting site for the Pomores, Russian trappers originating from the area now known as Arkangelsk. Pomores were the first trappers to over-winter in Svalbard during the XVIIIth century.

  • What a spectacular view: over 200 walruses on a narrow beach near a trapper's hut on the south west tip of Edgeoya.

  • With its length of 23 km by 8-10 km in width, Hornsund is the southernmost of the large fjords of Spitsbergen's west coast.

  • Located on the north side of the Isfjord, Alkhornet's rock face shelters colonies of birds while at its base, the tundra offers pastures to herds of reindeers.

  • Once the site of a gypsum mine, one can walk among the relics of this era.

  • A ghost town located along the Isfjord between Barentsburg and Longyearbyen. This community was established in the early 1910s for exploitation of coal. The mines were closed and the village was abandoned in 1961.

  • Mining town located 55 km from Longyearbyen, Barentsburg is the second largest settlement on the archipelago with some 300 residents (the vast majority being coal miners from Russia and Ukraine).

Svalbard

Le Svalbard est un archipel situé dans l'océan Arctique à mi-chemin entre le nord de la Norvège et le Pôle Nord. L’archipel s'étend entre les parallèles 74° et 81° de latitude nord et se trouve sous la juridiction de la Norvège. Pays de montagnes et de glaciers, le Svalbard a vu plusieurs explorateurs et aventuriers polaires fouler son sol. Chasseurs et pêcheurs russes et européens y sont également venus pendant des siècles. La véritable colonisation de l’archipel a toutefois débuté seulement qu’au XXe siècle suite avec l’industrie du charbon. Le Svalbard a fait la manchette des journaux à l’hiver 2008 suite à l’inauguration de la Chambre forte mondiale de graines du Svalbard, une chambre forte souterraine destinée à conserver dans un lieu sécurisé des graines de toutes les cultures vivrières de la planète dans le but de préserver la diversité génétique.

Retourner à la série: 
  • Située à 78° 13'N sur l’île du Spitzberg, Longyearbyen est le chef-lieu de l’archipel du Svalbard. Plus de 1500 personnes y résident. Elle fut fondée en 1906 par John Monroe Longyear, un homme d'affaires américain, venu ici pour exploiter des mines de charbon.

  • Cette baie, située sur la côte ouest de l'île du Spitzberg, abrite le Glacier du 14 juillet. Le glacier fut nommé en l'honneur de la fête nationale française suite aux expéditions menées par le Prince Albert 1er de Monaco.

  • Située à 78° 55°N sur les bords de la Baie du Roi, Ny-Ålesund est le lieu habité le plus septentrional de notre planète. Du village minier qu'il était à l'origine, il est devenu un lieu axé sur la recherche scientifique et environnementale. Il accueille des équipes de scientifiques provenant de divers pays.

  • D'une longueur de 22 km et d'une largeur de 4 à 10 km, Kongsfjord (la Baie du Roi) est considérée comme étant l'une des plus belles baies de l'archipel. Tout au fond, on y retrouve d'impressionnants glaciers dont le Kongsvegen (Glacier du Roi) et le Kronebreen (Glacier des Très Couronnés).

  • Ces falaises de basalte, qui culminent à environ 350 mètres d'altitude, abritent une colonie de 120 000 couples de guillemots de Brünnich. Toute une ambiance sonore!

  • Pour la première fois de son histoire, le Grigoryi Mikheev a franchi le cap du 82° 03°N en juillet 2006, et ce, à cause de la fonte hâtive de la glace. C'est à bord de zodiacs que nous nous sommes rendus jusqu'à 82° 04°N. À peine deux ou trois jours de plus de navigation et nous serions arrivés au Pôle Nord, à moins de 8 degrés de distance.

  • Située à l'extrême est de l'archipel du Svalbard, l'île de Kvitoya, est un lieu mythique. C'est ici qu'en 1930, les restes de l'expédition de Salomon Auguste Andrée furent découverts par pur hasard. En 1897, les trois hommes devaient être les premiers de l'histoire à survoler le Pôle Nord.

  • Storoya, l'île voisine de Kvitoya, nous a laissé un souvenir indélébile puisque c'est ici que nous avons été accueillis par des morses des plus curieux. Ils se sentaient délaissés dès que notre attention se portait vers les cinq ours polaires qui se prélassaient sur la rive.

  • Sur la côte nord ouest de l'île d'Edgeoya, Kapp Lee fut jadis un site de chasse aux morses par les Pomors, trappeurs russes originaires de l'actuelle région d'Arkangelsk. Ils furent les premiers trappeurs à demeurer à l'année au Svalbard au cours du XVIIIe siècle.

  • Quelle vue spectaculaire que de voir plus de 200 morses sur la plage près d'une cabane de trappeurs!

  • D'une longueur de 23 km par 8-10 km, Hornsund, est le plus méridional des grands fjords de la côte ouest de l'île du Spitzberg.

  • Située à l'entrée nord du Isfjord, Alkhornet abrite des colonies d'oiseaux au sommet de ses parois rocheuses alors que tout en bas, la toundra offre des pâturages aux troupeaux de rennes.

  • Skansbukta est le site d'une ancienne mine de gypse où l'on peut se balader parmi les reliques de cette époque.

  • Ce village fantôme est situé le long de l'Isfjord entre Barentsburg et Longyearbyen. La communauté fut établie au début des années 1910 pour l'exploitation des mines de charbon. Ces dernières, ainsi que le village, furent abandonnés en 1961.

  • Barentsburg, ville minière située à 55 km de Longyearbyen, est la deuxième plus grande agglomération de l'archipel. Des 900 habitants (en grande majorité des mineurs russes et ukrainiens) d'il y a quelques années, il n'en subsistait qu'environ le tiers en 2006.