Join us / Suivez-nous

Categories / Catégories


IPY 2012 Montreal Conference – Opening Ceremonies Speakers

Version française de ce texte.

Good morning from the “From Knowledge to Action” IPY 2012 conference in Montreal. What a thrill to take part in such an event that is bringing together over 3000 individuals from all over the world who share an interest in the polar regions.

The last few days have been extremely busy attending the conference as well as the PolarEDUCATORS workshop organised prior to the start of the conference. I thought I would nevertheless take a few minutes to at least share a few photos taken yesterday during the opening ceremonies.

Security was high yesterday around the Palais des Congrès where the event is being held. Fortunately, everything went very smoothly and by mid-afternoon, doors to the building were opened once again to the general public.

Have a great day!
France Rivet

The master of ceremony and chair of the conference, Dr Peter Harrison.

Honourable John Duncan, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development

Honourable Jean charest, Premier of Québec

Ms Mary Simon, President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)

Ms. Kyla Kakfwi Scott, Fellow of the Jane Glassco Arctic Program

Dr. Yuan-Tseh Lee, president of the International Council for Science and Nobel prize winner in Chemistry (1986)

Mr. David Grimes, President of the World Meteorological Organization

Dr Gro Harlem Brundtland, Member of the UN Secretery General's High Level Panel on Global Sustainability and former Prime Minister of Norway.

Mr. Martin Fortier, Executive Director of ArticNet announcing the new $1 million CAD Arctic Inspiration Prize.

M. Arnold Witzig, co-founder of the S. and A. Inspiration Foundation, initiator of the Arctic Inspiration Prize.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>